On “On Politics”

Back in college I would write OP-EDs from time to time. Even if not everybody agreed with me (or even bothered to read the OP-EDs I wrote), I still enjoyed the challenge of capturing a snippet of a national headline, analyzing what it meant, and putting that into my own perspective and, ultimately, into my own words.

I wrote in late 2003 and early 2004, when the news focused on Iraq and weapons of mass destruction, George W. Bush’s administration, and the role and place of the United States in an increasingly multipolar world.

In 2012 and beyond, I plan to focus on a similar set of (geo)political issues, to see how past issue’s become today’s legacies, and how today’s issues will inform tomorrow.  Front and center, and an issue that pivots on the last four years and the weight of the last twelve, is where this blog will begin: on the national presidential election.

Leave a Reply

